Car accidents should be reported promptly to insurers

Car accidents should be reported promptly to insurers

Car accidents are an unfortunate fact of life in New Mexico and across the nation. Responsible motorists may still end up in a car crash caused by a drunk, distracted or reckless driver. In addition to possible injury, an auto accident often causes great inconvenience and financial burdens. To avoid adding insurance payoff problems to the litany of issues that can be caused by a negligent driver, it’s important to report a car accident as promptly as possible.

Single-car accidents can make for special cases, but in general, motorists are required to report a car crash within 24 hours. Thankfully, most insurers have 24-hour hotlines and phone apps that make filing a claim easy. It’s important to note that claimants also have a statute of limitations for filing a lawsuit in court. Some states have different lengths of time during which claims or lawsuits may be filed. For example, Illinois allows five years for property damage but just two years for personal injury.

It’s important to remember that even in a single-car crash, reporting the incident as quickly as possible is required by many insurers in case a third party’s property is damaged. This protects the driver in addition to any third parties who may suffer a financial impact from the accident.

Insurance companies can be difficult to deal with regarding compensation for personal injury claims. However, An attorney could help make sure that these companies honor their agreements with policyholders. Car accident victims may be able to collect compensation for lost wages, medical expenses and pain and suffering.

Recent Posts



Request A Case Evaluation

Fields Marked With An “*” Are Required

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.