In New Mexico, there is a limit in the amount of time you can take to pursue a
personal injury lawsuit. This is known as a statute of limitation. At
Berenson & Associates, PC, our personal injury attorneys are knowledgeable about the amount of time
you have and are committed to resolving your case in a timely manner.
What is a Statute of Limitation?
A statute of limitation refers to a law that sets a limit on the amount
of time you have to file a civil or criminal lawsuit. Statute of limitations
apply from the date of your accident to the time it expires. After the
statute of limitation expires, you cannot pursue damages or beprosecuted
for a crime.
Personal Injury Statute of Limitation
Personal injury claims are civil suits. According to New Mexico Statute
37.1.8, personal injury claims cannot be pursued after the duration of
3 years. That means that you have 3 years from the time your accident
occurred to pursue damages.
Preparing to Pursue Damages
If you have been an
auto accident where you are not liable, it is important to have as much evidence as
possible. You can prepare to pursue damages by hiring an experienced attorney
and collecting the evidence in your case. Pictures from the day of the
accident, pictures of your injuries, medical reports, police reports,
and witness accounts will all help your lawyer build a strong case on
Why You Should Start Your Case Now
Berenson & Associates, PC recommends that you start your personal injury lawsuit immediately after
an accident. Due to the complexities of personal injury law and investigations
into liability, cases may take long periods of time to reach a satisfactory
resolution. By getting started on your case earlier, you can pursue your
case without worrying about the statute of limitations.
Get started today.
Contact us for a
free consultation regarding your personal injury case.